I believe in the blerch

The blerch is a fat little cherub who follows me when I run. He is a wretched, lazy beast. He tells me to slow down, to walk, to quit.”

If you know The Oatmeal, you must also know who is this blerch. If  you have no idea, what am I talking about see the website: http://theoatmeal.com/. You’re gonna have sooo much fun reading the comics. I just read the book: The terrible and wonderful reasons why I run long distances. I suggest you to read it if you like running and also if you don’t (especialy if you don’t), I was dying of laughter while reading 😀

Actually it’s not just about running, it’s about suffering, pleasure, escaping everyday life (going straight to nirvana part), the feeding and the blerch with its “excellent” advice for eating, pardon – fueling and resting.

There are two things I liked the most. The first is the author’s description of the treadmill and what a perfect invention they are – for those who hate the outdoors and prefer starring at the walls or television. I hate the treadmills, too. I can’t understand people, who come to the gym (probably by car) and walk on this torture machine for an hour. It is not even close to running. The second part are his thoughts of food. It’s like reading my thoughts, sometimes: “I overeat because food tastes good, but more importantly I do it because it feels good. It’s a nine minute vacation. It’s a short dip into a shallow pool of chewing, tasting and swallowing…” Comparing overeating with drug addiction makes sense. It actually is an addiction – my opinion is, it is worse than drug, alcohol, cigarette or any other. We need food for living, we eat every day and so we beat the addiction harder. Food can be the medicine or the poison.

This blerch must be real, he must be also following me sometimes or anyone of you. Just try to shut him up.

So much for today, I was planning to continue my post with the differences between real hunger and psycological hunger, but it’s time to go to sleep. I hate being in front of the computer late at night, lack of sleeping or not sleeping on proper time can make you fat.

That’s all folks! Good night 🙂

Leave a Reply

